Overview
Use the Sync to Ordway field to identify Salesforce contacts for synchronization. When you sync a contract, Ordway also syncs the contacts assigned as its Billing Contact and Shipping Contact, even if those contacts are not flagged for synchronization.
Contents
Prerequisites
- Enable dynamic object mapping for Contracts.
- Create a custom field on the Contact customization object with the Text return type and the name Sync From Salesforce.
Configure Contact Synchronization
Step 1: Configure the Contact Field Mapping
- In Ordway, open the Setup Salesforce Integration page.
- Select Map Contacts from the three-dot menu, for the Contacts datatype.
- Locate the Sync From Salesforce field and map to Sync to Ordway Salesforce field.
Step 2: Select Contacts in Salesforce
- Create an Account in Salesforce.
- Add the required contacts to the Account.
- Select the Sync to Ordway checkbox for each contact you want to sync to Ordway.
Step 3: Assign Contacts to a Contract
- Create an Opportunity in Salesforce.
- Create a Contract.
- Assign the required contacts as the Billing Contact and Shipping Contact for the Contract.
Step 4: Sync the Contract
- In Salesforce, click Sync.
- Ordway syncs the contacts flagged for synchronization and the Billing Contact and Shipping Contact associated with the Contract.
Important Notes
Contract Contacts Are Synced Regardless of the Sync Flag
When a Contract is synced, its associated Billing Contact and Shipping Contact are synced to Ordway even if the contacts are not flagged for synchronization using Sync to Ordway.
Additional Contacts Require Another Sync
After a Contract has been synced to Ordway, newly created Salesforce contacts marked Sync to Ordway are not synced automatically unless you manually sync the Contract or enable customer and contact sync automation.
Changes to Contract Contacts Do Not Automatically Delete Previous Contacts
When you update the Billing Contact or Shipping Contact on a Contract, the newly assigned contact is synced to Ordway when the Contract is synced again. However, the previously associated contact is not automatically deleted from Ordway.
Example:
- Initially, Contact A is assigned as the Billing Contact and Contact B as the Shipping Contact.
- You update the Contract to assign Contact C as the Billing Contact.
- When you sync the Contract again, Contact C is synced to Ordway.
- Contact A remains in Ordway even though it is no longer assigned as the Contract's Billing Contact.
Account Contacts Are Used When Contract Contacts Are Not Assigned
If a Contract does not have a Billing Contact or Shipping Contact assigned, the Contract uses the corresponding Billing Contact or Shipping Contact assigned to the Account.
Comments
0 comments
Please sign in to leave a comment.